Don’t Let Others Tell You What to Do

No matter if the opinion giver has your best interest in mind they only know the parts they know.

During a recent early morning with my running partner and friend I was reminded that nobody else (family included) can truly tell you what’s best for you.

GrandCentral.Text

Here’s what happened…

On our run she was sharing about an opportunity in her business.

Over the past three years with the hours logged in authentic conversations, I not only feel that I ‘get her’, I also know that I only want what’s best for her.

So when I asked if she wanted my opinion, I gave it to her.

The irony is right after I gave her a solution, she continued to share information that made me realize I was totally wrong in assuming I knew.

Even with the best of intentions, I was steering her towards what I thought was best, but in truth, I wasn’t.

Can you think of a time in your life when someone gave you their opinion, whether you asked for it or not?

Did you allow it to sway your decision?

What was the impact of it?

The thing is, nobody else is in your shoes, living your life.

It’s only you who truly knows what’s best for you.

Trust in that.

Of course there is value in what others have to say, but it’s critical that we don’t give other people’s thoughts the loudest voice in our heads.

3 Steps To Making Decisions That Are Right For You:

1. SEEK: Talk, share and ask for other people’s opinions because we have so much to learn from each other, let alone from someone who may have navigated something similar and has great perspectives to share.

2. VALUE: Listen to and don’t discount your own gut, inner voice, intuition…whatever you call it.

3. OWN: Nobody has a crystal ball, so there’s no way you can foresee the future. Decisions that you make for yourself and are aligned with your values are truly the ones that are best for you.

Leave a Reply

